Gemstones and the Chakra System

Gemstones and the Chakra System

More and more people today use gemstones and crystals to promote their physical health and spiritual growth.
To understand how crystal healing works and how stones can influence us so strongly, it is important to understand the Chakra System.
There are seven major chakras in our body each is an energy center, they run from the base of the spine to the crown of the head. These centers activate and energise our physical, emotional, mental and spiritual energies.
Every chakra is associated with a particular colour, which is where the crystals come in. Crystals all contain energy as do we, some crystals have higher frequencies, these strong energy fields can be used to raise our personal vibration. By choosing crystals which correspond with chakra colours we can embrace their energy to raise and balance our own energies.

If you are new to the world of crystals or chakras, read on to learn more about the individual chakras. We have suggested a crystal to represent each chakra should you wish to start your own chakra set. We also sell these crystal chakra sets under the chakra category on our online store. Bare in mind that it is the colour that is important so you can also put together your own crystal chakra set using stones that resonate with you:

Root Chakra (or first chakra)
The root or base chakra is located at the base of the spine. The areas of the body that relate to this chakra are the spinal column, the large intestines and the bones. This chakra promotes physical survival, vitality, stability, patience, courage and material success. It gives us life force, our natural instincts and connects us to the earth.

Red Jasper; Garnet; Ruby; Red Amber

Sacral Chakra (Second chakra)
This chakra is located in the area below the naval and provides harmony in the lower abdomen. If there are blockages in the sacral chakra it will be reflected in the kidneys, bladder, digestive system or reproductive organs. The sacral chakra generates our sexual energies, creativity, new ideas, passion and endurance. It gives physical force, vitality and strength.

Gemstone: Carnelian; Calcite; Sunstone; Yellow Flourite; Amber

Solar Plexus Chakra (Third chakra)
Located below the breastbone and behind the stomach, this chakra is associated with the stomach, liver and gall bladder as well as the pancreas and adrenal glands.  The solar plexus also gives us our sense of identity and personality. It promotes confidence, personal power, authority, humour, laughter, spontaneous action, warmth and inner glow.

Gemstone: Citrine; Gold; Tigers Eye; Gold Topaz

Heart Chakra (Fourth chakra)
As the name implies, this chakra is located in the middle of the chest at the same level as the heart. Disturbances in the heart chakra usually show up as problems with the heart or the lungs as well as disturbances in the blood circulation. Also in the area associated with this chakra is the thymus gland, which strengthens the immune system and stimulates growth. The heart chakra harbors our emotional center that promotes love, compassion, understanding, sharing and forgiveness.

Gemstone: Aventurine; Emerald; Green Tourmaline; Jade; Chrysoprase; Malachite

Throat Chakra (Fifth chakra)
This chakra is located in the area of the throat just above the collarbone. Blockages would be reflected in swallowing difficulties and sore throat as well as problems with the jaw and the area around the nape of the neck. Also affected by the throat chakra is the thyroid gland, which regulates growth and development through the metabolism rate. The throat chakra controls communication, self-expression and sounds and so builds the bridge between us and the world around us.

Gemstone: Blue Lace Agate; Blue Topaz; Turquoise; Aqua Marine; Celestite

Third Eye Chakra (Sixth chakra)
The third eye or brow chakra is located at the centre of the forehead between and slightly above the eyebrows. Disturbances result in eyes nose and throat problems as well as inflammation of the sinuses. The pituitary gland is also affected by this chakra. The third eye is also considered the centre of psychic power promoting vision, intuition, psychic abilities, concentration, self knowledge and insight.

Gemstone: Sodalite; Azurite; Tanzanite; Iolite

Crown Chakra (Seventh chakra)
This chakra is located at the top, or crown, of the head and is considered to be the centre of spirituality and enlightenment. When balanced the crown chakra promotes positive though patterns, inspiration and imagination. The crown chakra vitalises the cerebrum, the seat of conscious mental processes in the brain, as well as the pineal gland. For a harmonious crown chakra, energy must flow freely in all other chakras. When this occurs the crown chakra is free and vitalised, there is a feeling of fulfillment and negative feelings such as hatred and envy are diminished.

Gemstone: Amethyst; Sugilite: Purple Flourite; Thulite; Lepidolite

How to use your Crystal Chakra Set to re-align your Chakra System.

You will need to lie down somewhere comfortable and peaceful where there won’t be any disruption. If you choose to, you can play relaxing music, light candles etc to create the right atmosphere which will allow you to relax and let go.

Once you have made a comfortable space and are lying down, place the crystals on the corresponding chakra areas of your body with any points facing up the body to keep the energy flowing from the base of the chakras to the crown. Relax for around 10 minutes, try to clear your mind by concentrating on your breathing and just feel what you can feel, if thoughts come in just let them go. You will hear noises, just let them pass whilst you continue to be aware of the breath coming in and going out of your body. You can relax like this for 10 minutes by setting your intention for the crystals to align your chakras when you first lie down or you can spend a couple of minutes breathing into each chakra area one at a time working from the bottom up feeling any sensations in your body, once you have completed the crown chakra relax for a couple more minutes before removing the crystals.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *